Dreaming of spring turkey

This past week I received my spring turkey tag for the year. After much anticipation, I was delighted to see that I was pulled for the second season which runs from the 12th to the 17th of April. While most hunters may want first season so that they can get “fresh” birds, I was excited for second season.

The cause for my excitement is because the second season this year starts on a Saturday. This is especially good because it will allow me to take my son on his first ever turkey hunt at the farm. Being that he is only five years old, he will not be able to work the shotgun.  But instead he will get the thrill of the hunt by watching, scouting, and occasionally calling for them. I am reasonably sure that he will scare off a few birds, but I’m still excited none the less that I get the opportunity to instill in him the importance of the hunt and where our meat actually comes from. Already he is making pretend blinds in the house and preparing himself for the hunt!

After the initial excitement of the dates, it got me wondering.  I wondered what will I need to make sure that he enjoys his first hunt?  A couple things came to mind.  First off, since we will be hunting turkey, we will have the added bonus of being able to use a ground blind.  While this will be good for me as it will conceal some of the unavoidable movement, it will also help to retain heat.  First rule; cold + wet = bad, and that is especially true for kids.  Secondly, I thought what about the downtime?  Or as the kids would so elegantly put it, “being bored.”  To combat that, I’m thinking a small hunting pack just for him.  Let him bring along a few toys, maybe even a tablet (muted of course) to help the time go by.  A ground blind especially can be close quarters.  And lastly, don’t expect too much. As much as I would love to tag out the first day right away in the morning, the main focus needs to be making it enjoyable for him.  After all, if it’s not fun, he won’t want to go again.

That’s pretty much it.  Wish us luck here in about six weeks and continue to check back to see how we did!

~Redneck Coder

Leave a Reply

