Grow the hobby, bring a friend.

20130103_095506[1]Yesterday I took the morning off work so that I could take two family members on their first duck hunt.  We went to a pit that I knew of on public ground as I wanted them to get the full experience.  We got at the parking lot at 4am to get everything ready and changed before they allow people to enter at 4:30am.  After that, it was a dash to the pit!

After we entered and got to the pit we quickly found about two inches of ice on the pond that needed to be broke.  Luckily, I brought along my handy sledge-hammer and commenced to breaking the ice into large sheets that we could then slide under the other ice.  This worked for the most part, but there was still smaller pieces from where we had to break it loose still in the water.  As we soon found, the smaller pieces made the hole refreeze since it was only 20ish degrees.

Since we hunted public land, I used an old sled we bought for the kids and packed the decoys and other gear on it so that I could drag it out easier.  Works great as long as there is snow or ice on the ground.  Because the hole kept freezing due to the small chunks of ice, we decided to take the sled and use it to push the smaller chunks of ice out of the hole.  This worked great and before we knew it the hole was clear and the decoys had good movement to them because of the wind.

We hunted for the morning and then left so that I could get to work.  No shots fired, and only seen a few ducks, but they enjoyed the hunt and are excited to go again when the opportunity presents itself.  For me, I was excited to show them something new and took a lot of pleasure in sharing this hobby with them.

Leave a Reply

